Postgrad Careers Talks In October

I’ve now got rooms and times for most of my postgrad careers talks over the next few weeks. If you want to hear what I have to say and to ask questions, sign up on CareersLink and put them in your diary.

If you can’t make it, or want to hear them at a more convenient time, I’ve got a slightly modified version on the online talks (“slidecasts” – slides and audio soundtrack) on this blog and on the postgrad careers website, though of course you can’t ask questions.

I’ll update the “finding a job” and “job market” online talks (they form part of the “Getting a job” talks below) for 2011-12, but only after I’ve delivered the face-to-face talks.

So, diaries at the ready?

The Essential Guide To Getting A Job For Postgraduate Masters
Date: Weds 5th Oct, 10-11
Mansfield Cooper G22

The Essential Guide To Getting A Job For PhD Researchers
Date: Fri 7th Oct, 10-11
Uni Place 4.209

CVs and Applications For Postgraduate Masters
Date: Weds 12th Oct, 10-11 (not “Weds 10th” as I originally typed!)
Chemistry G53

CVs and Applications For PhD Researchers
Date: Fri 14th Oct, 10-11
University Place 2.219

Interviews For Postgraduate Masters
Date: Weds 26th Oct, 10-11
University Place 4.209

Interviews For PhD Researchers
Date: Fri 28th Oct, 10-11
University Place 3.204

Further details are on the descriptions on CareersLink, so you know roughly what to expect. Of course if you’ve already listened to the slidecasts, they really won’t be very different … but you do get the chance to ask questions.

I will also be delivering two more in November, but we don’t yet have rooms – more details once they are finalised:

Assessment Centres For Postgraduates (Masters and PhDs)
Date: Fri 4th Nov, 10-11

Academic Careers – Getting Started
Date: Fri 11th Nov, 10-11

4 comments on “Postgrad Careers Talks In October

  1. Hi:
    This is Yu-pei Kao and I’d like to attend ‘The Essential Guide To Getting A Job For PhD Researchers’
    Date: Fri 7th Oct, 10-11
    Uni Place 4.209

    • Hi Yu-pei Kao

      Great – the way to register is to go to CareersLink , log in using your usual university IT login details, search on events for “postgrad” and it will appear in the list of events. Just register there and I’ll see you on Friday.

      Cheers
      Elizabeth

  2. I was not around during all your presentation, my visa delayed thererfore I arrived late. I wil be looking forward to any future presentaton . Thanks
    Bola

    • Hi Bola

      Don’t worry if you missed the talks – they’re all available online as slides plus audio. I know that many postgrads aren’t able to make the specific times of the talks (due to so many different timetables or lab commitments etc). That’s why I make them available 24/7.

      Just have a look at the “Online talks” tab above, or on the postgrad pages of the careers service website, where they’re also available.

      Cheers
      Elizabeth

Comments are closed.