Blog Recommendations

I’ve read three blog posts in the last 24 hours which I’ve enjoyed, have got me thinking or have useful info for postgrads. I don’t normally write posts which just send you elsewhere, but all of these are worth highlighting, so here goes:

PGR Doc Blog – Are you on Twitter?
Emily Bannister’s latest post on the University of Manchester Humanities PGR blog gives some good reasons for using Twitter, with examples relevant to our postgrads. Emily’s description of how she scans the horizon in the morning using Twitter feeds is exactly my experience – and is how I first spotted her new blog post. (Warning – she does say nice things about my Twitter feed but you can ignore that, of course.)

University of Salford Careers blog for postgraduates
PhD Career Stories: Working as a government management scientist

Didn’t spot this on Twitter (though it’s no doubt on there by now) but talking to Fiona Christie from Salford yesterday, she mentioned that Bill Cockerill had written a profile for her blog. Bill’s a former Manchester University PhD who came to our Pathways event last year (on Fiona’s recommendation) and is an enthusiastic proponent of using your research and analytical skills in a non-academic context. (Note to self: must check if Bill’s coming to Pathways this year …)

jobs.ac.uk – Career Development Article
Brain Based Learning – A new approach

There are some fantastic articles on jobs.ac.uk, but this one by Tom Tuohy really got me thinking. I knew some of it (I’m not sure it’s all “new”) but if you’re involved in helping others learn, it’s definitely worth digesting.

There’s a great description of how we traditionally teach languages by giving people vocabulary first, then go through practice exercises, then using it to communicate in a relevant context – which is the opposite of how we naturally learn (we find a need first, then look for ways to solve the problem we’re dealing with).

One sentence stands out for me – “Our brains are built to solve personally relevant problems, not store random input for future use.” (Professor Curtis Kelly)

Hmmm, I’m now trying to work out the implications of all those careers talks we give in the Autumn, telling you how to go about writing a CV etc – and wondering if they’re any use at all?

2 comments on “Blog Recommendations

  1. Thanks for the vote of confidence in my article on BBL @ jobs.ac.uk.

    You could have mentioned the fantastic work of Sir Ken Robinson as well and his amazing book!!

    best

    Tom

Comments are closed.