Careers Talks For Postgraduates

Finally, we’ve got the dates, times and venues sorted for our careers talks for Postgraduate Masters and PhD Researchers (that includes EngDs and all the other professional doctorates as well).

chemistryg54

It’s helpful if you can sign up on the website for the ones you’re planning to attend (so we can assess numbers). However, the first people to arrive get the seats, so even if you don’t sign up, you can still attend. See you there!

6 comments on “Careers Talks For Postgraduates

  1. Are postgrads from other Greater Manchester universities/ alumni allowed to attend these talks?
    My uni has not yet advertised similar events, however now is the time when careers advice is most valuable.

    Thanks

    • Hi C.D.

      Good question – which deserved a more detailed answer, so see the next post!

      (Short answer is – if you’re one of our alumni, come along. If not, there’s a good chance that your own university will be putting something on shortly, or you will be able to see them individually).

      Cheers
      Elizabeth

  2. Hi, unfortunatelly all the Masters talks overlap with our core classeson Monday. Will it be possible to find the presentations on-line or will the events be repeated? Many thanks.

    • Hi Adam

      Really sorry about that – with over 5,700 Masters students it was inevitable there would be some clashes with some programmes, even if they are scheduled for what is normally lunchtime.

      However … you’ve prodded me into action, and I’m going to have a go at uploading a version of at least some of the presentations, with both slides and audio. I’ve already uploaded a few Powerpoint presentations (from the Pathways event earlier this year) which can be viewed on the blog, and the slides from the talks always go on our website as downloads. However, my slides are very brief summaries of my talks – most of the info is in what I say, rather than just a few bullet points. So – I’ll take the plunge and have a go at audio as well.

      I say each year that I’m going to do this, but there are always big obstacles in getting stuff like this on our own website (this time it’s that we don’t have any more space on the server!). Now though, with all these free web apps (like Slideshare), looks like I can just do my own thing, so here goes…

      Thanks for giving me the final push to make this happen – lets see if it works.

      Cheers
      Elizabeth

  3. Hi Elizabeth,

    I have the same problem that my core classes overlap with the talks arranged for Masters students. It would be great if you could upload the audio.

    Thanx.

    Kind Regards,
    Azzmin

    • Hi Azzmin

      Sorry about the overlap. I’m going to have a go at recording audio, though I think I’m going to have to do an edited version of the talk for uploading. As you don’t have the interactivity that you get in a face to face talk, I’ll have to change some of the slides. Also, it makes sense to combine some of the sections of each talk for Masters and PhDs (a lot of the info is the same, just some aspects which are different for different types of postgrads).

      If all goes to plan, I hope to have a “slides with audio” version up on the blog at the end of the week, or early next week, after I’ve done both the PhD and Masters talks.

      Wish me luck with the technology!
      Cheers
      Elizabeth

Comments are closed.