Congratulations – & Joke of the Month

Congratulations to one of our alumni, Dr Geoff Davison, who has just taken on the role of Director of Bionow, the organisation which supports the biotechnology, pharmaceutical and healthcare industry in the North West of England. To celebrate, he’s coming to Pathways, our annual careers event for PhDs and research staff in June (12th and 15th) – and he’s let me reproduce the “Joke of the Month” which appears in the Bionow March newsletter :

genieA postgraduate student, a post-doc, and a professor are walking through a city park and they find an antique oil lamp. They rub it and a genie comes out in a puff of smoke. The Genie says, “I usually only grant three wishes, so I’ll give each of you just one.”

“Me first! Me first!” says the postgraduate student, “I want to be in the Bahamas, driving a speedboat.” Poof! He’s gone.

“Me next! Me next!” says the post-doc, “I want to be in Hawaii, relaxing on the beach.” Poof! He’s gone.

“You’re next,” the genie says to the professor. The professor replies, “I want those guys back in the lab after lunch.”

