Elizabeth (Postgraduate Careers):

This is really good detailed post on dealing with discrimination at work from Tahira Majothi over at the University of Salford Careers Service.

I’d also add that if you are concerned about whether you will be discriminated against at interview stage, for example for wearing a symbol of your religion, you can also ask yourself: “Would I want to work for someone who would discriminate against someone for wearing a hijab / cross etc?” Frankly, I don’t think they deserve you if they act like that (but you can still challenge them!)

Originally posted on Careers Information @ the University of Salford:


Over the past few weeks I’ve seen a few graduates presenting with essentially the same dilemma, “I have a CV which has enabled me to progress to interview but once at interview, the dynamics have changed, or I feel singled out in the workplace, is it because of my age/physical disability/ hijab?…”

The truth is I can’t say for certain that this is down to stereotyping or discrimination, I just don’t know. I’d like to think that employers nowadays are much more informed given the Equality Act 2010, and savvy enough to want a diverse workforce. This not only benefits employers by way of pulling together different strengths, experiences and perspectives but also reflects the diversity of their community and indeed client base.

The Equality and Human Right Commission (EHRC) states that it is not a requirement for an employer to meet someone or interview them before…

View original 1,151 more words

By Elizabeth (Postgraduate Careers) Posted in wf